Home  |  This Week  |  Subscribe  |  Classified Ads  |  About Us  |  Contact
2/8/2018 Election season to kick off with party precinct caucuses
Colorado Dems, GOP, to gather March 6 All around the country folks are gearing up for the 2018 election cycle, and the Wet Mountain Valley is no different. With upcoming caucuses, assemblies, towns, and special district elections, it’s time for everyone to mark their calendars and make theirvoice heard! The official kick-off of the 2018 election season in Colorado will take place on Tuesday, March 6, when Democrats, Republicans and other parties will hold precinct caucuses in neighborhoods throughout the state. During the caucuses, voters will select delegates for the upcoming county assemblies, and typically conduct straw-polls on various candidates running for office. The Custer County Democratic Party has announced their upcoming caucus and assembly schedule. Caucuses will be held on Tuesday, March 6, at 5 p.m. Precinct One will be held in the Custer County Library Community Room located at 209 Main Street, Westcliffe. Precinct Two will be in the Wetmore Community Center, north room, at 95 County Rd. 393, Wetmore. Precinct Three will be at All Aboard Westcliffe, first floor located at 110 Rosita St. Westcliffe. The Democratic County Assembly will be held on Monday, March 12 at 5 p.m. in the Custer County Library Community Room. The Custer County Republican Party announced their caucus and assembly schedule as follows. The precinct caucuses will be held Tuesday, March 6, at 7 p.m. Precinct One will be held at Lange Hall, adjacent to Hope Lutheran Church. Precinct Two will meet at the Wetmore Community Center. Precinct Three will meet in the Custer County School multi-purpose Room. Caucus goers will need to arrive at their location and be seated by 7 p.m. on March 6, in order to participate. The Republican County Assembly will be held on Tuesday, March 20 at 7 p.m. in the Custer County School multi-purpose room. The primary elections for county, state and national offices are slated for Tuesday, June 26. Locally, the following county seats are up for election. Custer County Treasurer, which is currently held by Virginia Trujillo. Trujillo is running for re-election. Custer County Assessor, held by J.D. Henrich, is also seeking another term. Custer County Clerk and Recorder, Kelley Camper is seeking another term. Custer County Sheriff, Shannon Byerly is throwing his hat in the ring for re-election. Custer County Coroner, Art Nordyke is looking to serve another term. Finally, Kit Shy is looking to serve again as Custer County Surveyor. The Custer County Commissioner seat held by William Canda is up again. Canda won the seat last November after Robert Kattnig was recalled. Anyone wishing to run for office or find a list of candidates for statewide offices may visit the Colorado Secretary of State web site at: www.sos.state.co.us search for “2018 offices up for election”. To be eligible to vote, you must be at least 18 years of age. You can register to vote up to and including the day of the election, and have lived in the state of Colorado for at least 29 days prior to the election. The local special districts will be holding their elections in May. The Wet Mountain Fire Protection District announced they currently have two seats up for election, the seats held by John Tillotson and James Lewis. Self-nomination forms can be picked up at the fire district office located on 215 4th St, in Westcliffe during normal business hours. They need to be returned to the same office by March 2. Round Mountain Water and Sanitation District announced the following information on their upcoming elections. There are two four- year term seats, and one two-year term. Peggy Quint and Randy Wilhelm have turned in self nomination forms and are seeking re-election. Forms can be picked up from District Manager, George Madaris at the RMWSD office located at 610 W. Main St., Westcliffe, during normal business hours. The forms need to be returned no later than March 2. The Custer County Conservation District has three seats up for election with those persons to serve four-year terms. All interested persons can pick up self-nomination and acceptance forms from the Designated election official, Carol Kuisle-Franta at 10 Hermit Lane, Silver Cliff during the hours of 8 a.m. and 4:30 p.m. on Mondays and Thursdays. They will need to be returned no later than March 2 at 4:30 p.m. Also announcing their upcoming election is the West Custer County Hospital District. Designated Election Official, Delwin Lester stated that all five board seats are up for grabs, including three director seats up for four-year terms and two seats up for two-year terms. Those seats are currently held by Bob Tobin, Katherine Ripley-Williams, Bob Weisenbach, S. Evans “Ann” and Janny Candaleria. All those wishing to serve on the board, may obtain a self-nomination and acceptance form from Lester at the Custer County Clinic located at 704 Edwards Ave, Westcliffe, during normal business hours. Forms need to be returned no later than 5 p.m. on March 2. Affidavit to be a write-in candidate must be returned to Lester no later than 5 p.m. on March 5. Anyone with questions on registering to vote, changing party affiliation and all other pertinent election information, can go by the Clerk and Recorders office located in the Custer County Courthouse during regular business hours, or calling 783-2241. Please stay informed. Profiles of local candidates running for office, will be featured in issues leading up to the election. – Tracy Ballard